on the same team

Pearls and I are on the same team,and it makes no sense for me to get to heaven on my own.
Her hangups, spiritual or psychological are no longer merely hers. It’s also mine.
It’s not for me to gloat over how well I’m carrying my own cross, but to enter into the mystery and suffering of hers.
To learn the unique shape and feel of her cross and to bear it together.

Her problems with a maniacal schedule or being unable to slow down don’t exist. Not because they do not occur, but because they’re not only hers. It’s mine too.

This isn’t a relay. It’s more like a two legged race where we have to move and rest together. Except our unity isn’t our stumbling block, but our strength that keeps us journeying closer to home.

Leave a Reply

